Edit Profile
Troubleshooting
Contact Admin

For Admins
Forum Software

School age violence

Japan With Kids - Forums: Education in Japan: School age violence
By Hugh Levinson on Thursday, January 4, 2001 - 12:26 am:

I am a producer with BBC radio in London and I am researching a programme about violence among schoolage children in Japan. I would very much like to hear from anyone who either has personal experience of this subject or who can give me any suggestions for further information.
With many thanks,
hugh.levinson@bbc.co.uk

By Cornelia on Monday, March 5, 2001 - 12:49 am:

In a book review about:

Hikikomoru Wakamonotachi
[Withdrawn adolescents ]
by Mami Fukae

there is one case where:

"Satoshi Kato, not his real name, 21, has been living in seclusion since the night he was assaulted by some classmates during his first year at high school. He refused to explain exactly what inspired him to lock himself away, even to his parents. He refuses to dine with his family members, and never utters a word when he is talked to. His parents now communicate with him through memos, which are mostly limited to a list of items Satoshi wants to buy."

There is probably a lot of information on the subject, if you are Japanese literate. I am not so I can't offer too much info. The question is not entirely clear. By school-age violence, what exactly is meant? Very famous here is the violence of children against children (bullying). Juvenile violent crime is also on the uprise. I have heard/read little or nothing of violence by children before junior high. Either it happens very rarely, or it is censored from media discussion. Not always easy to tell.

By Hugh Levinson on Monday, March 5, 2001 - 6:01 pm:

I have now completed my radio documentary, which was broadcast last week. I also made a webpage on the subject, which you can see at
http://www.bbc.co.uk/continents

With thanks,
Hugh Levinson
hugh.levinson@bbc.co.uk

Moderator's note:
Excerpt: