Getting Started
Register Here
Edit Profile
Troubleshooting
Contact Admin

For Admins
Forum Software

Bullying (Ijimeru)

Japan With Kids - Forums: Education in Japan: Bullying (Ijimeru)
By Dian Mertani on Tuesday, June 18, 2002 - 4:33 pm:

Hello,
I heard from news and friends that lately (the last 10 years or so) the 'ijimeru' has been increasing and give a very negative effect on the targeted child (I heard even a kid suicide because of this !).
I am thinking to send my girl to Japanese school because international school is too expensive, but this is one of my concern (my husband doesn't put any worry about this 'ijimeru' thing, he said it is everywhere).
If anybody have any opinion and experience about this, it will be appreciated. Being a 'different' (read: gaijin) in Japanese school seems like a good target?

By Melissa Mcnulty on Wednesday, June 26, 2002 - 11:36 pm:

Hi Dian

I worked as an ALT (assistant Language teacher on the JET program) in two Japanese high schools. There was a foreign kid at one of the schools, and he did not encounter any problems with bullying. He was a very confident teenager, who had some Japanese language skills before he arrived (half-way through my year at the school), and was the kind of kid who would give as good as he got, so he would not have been a very good target anyway. Also, being a senior high school, the problems with bullying seem to be less than at middle schools. A friend of mine worked at a middle school where one of his students was a victim of bullying. Tragically, this student committed suicide. The student was Japanese. In the aftermath of his death there was much hand-wringing done in the prefecture where this took place (Saitama), and I made a point of discussing it with the teachers at my schools and with the students in my classes. Not alot of headway was made. The teachers were concerned, but seemed resigned to it "yes, it's a very bad problem, but what can we do about it?" was the general feeling back then