Troubleshooting
Contact Admin

For Admins
Forum Software

Saitama, Wakoshi

Japan With Kids - Forums: Day Care in Japan: Saitama, Wakoshi
By Dipti Chaturvedi on Thursday, April 1, 2004 - 12:47 pm:

Hi,
I am an Indian, we speak English at home. I have a 16 month old daughter. I work as an English teacher, working time from 2pm to 7pm in the evening. For the last month i had kept my daughter at a private daycare. The problem was she kept coming down with infections all the time. Winter is especially a bad season with almost all the children with runny noses and fevers at the daycare. Can anyone help me with a better option?
Is there any working mom who would like to help me out? daycare exchange kind of an arrangement? Wakoshi/Asakadai/ Kita Asaka would be fine for me.

Thanks for the help ahead!

Dipti

By Peter E on Thursday, April 1, 2004 - 12:54 pm:

Don't worry about it. Nurseries are not all they seem. They are in fact biological warfare testing grounds.

For the first six months or so, expect your child to bring home a new and wondrous disease every _week_. Optionally including chicken pox, measles but hopefully not something really nasty like Kawasaki syndrome.

This is normal, just get used to weekly visits to your local paediatrician. (With two kids, a season ticket would be nice ^^;)

By Vicki on Thursday, April 1, 2004 - 2:51 pm:

Regarding Kawasaki Syndrome, my son contracted it in the states and wasn't attending a daycare. It's still unknown exactly how kids contract this disease, but it seems to happen mostly to kids of Japanese descent. My son is half-Japanese. Don't worry about catching this at the daycare.
The common daycare ailments my kids have run across here (besides colds) are: impetigo, fifth's disease, measles and chicken pox.
Vicki

By Dipti Chaturvedi on Thursday, April 1, 2004 - 7:35 pm:

My god, why is everyone being so scary!