Edit Profile
Troubleshooting
Contact Admin

For Admins
Forum Software

Smoking in Japan

Japan With Kids - Forums: Health Topics: Smoking in Japan
By Anonymous on Monday, September 20, 1999 - 10:43 am:

I am a teacher in the U.S. and I'm very concerned about children smoking. Every day 3,000 American children become addicted to tobacco.

I recently visited Japan and saw that many Japanese teens also smoke. Do you have any organizations that are trying to curb the use of tobacco among the young? Can you tell me if anything is being done to protect children from the tobacco industry?

Do you know of any students who would like to work with mine in trying to keep tobacco products out of the hands of children?

By Rabid anti-smoker on Saturday, November 4, 2000 - 8:03 pm:

I can't really help you, but I have lived in Japan and will be going to Tokyo again soon to join my fiance who now works there. When I visited him I was shocked at how bad the smoking problem was. (I hadn't really noticed when I lived there before). In Australia smoking has just been banned from all restaurants and cafes which is probably the most intelligent law this country has seen for a long time. But in Tokyo it seems that people can (and do) smoke whenever and wherever they feel like it. It's appalling that they can be so unaware of what a disgusting poison this habit is. I would love to start some kind of awareness in Tokyo of how bad it is for you, but I have a feeling it would be a long hard slog.

By Cornelia on Tuesday, January 6, 2004 - 9:47 am:

Since I first came to Japan, there have been many changes in public policies towards smoking. The first most noticeable change was when smoking was restricted to specified smoking areas on the train platforms (around 1994?). This past year smoking was banned altogether from many train platforms.