Getting Started
Register Here
Edit Profile
Troubleshooting
Contact Admin

For Admins
Forum Software

Considering a job in Tokyo

Japan With Kids - Forums: Moving to and Leaving Japan: Moving To Japan: Considering a job in Tokyo
By gaminirathnatissa on Sunday, March 20, 2005 - 7:04 pm:

I am gamini
from sri lanka.
I am a teacher, and my wife allso a teacher. we can teach english.
we wants to traval japan, and work there. how am i strart ?

By Linda Gondo on Monday, March 21, 2005 - 8:54 am:

Dear Gamini,
I don't mean to sound negative, however most English language conversation schools prefer to employ native speakers. This is certainly true of the big chains such as NOVA and BERLITZ, although perhaps at some of the smaller schools they aren't so rigorous in this aspect. I do think it is fairly rare though.

On the other hand, your wife may have more success in finding work as an assistant teacher at one of the international preschools. In my daughter's classes at the preschools she has previously attended, quite a few of the assistants have been non native speakers, mostly Japanese and occasionally Filipino.

Visas are another major issue. Do as much research into this as you can. Sorry I can't really give you much helpful advice in this regard, it is not an area of expertise.

All the very best with finding work. Good luck!

By sunshine on Monday, March 21, 2005 - 11:02 am:

Dear Gamini,
I agree with linda, here its very difficult to get a english teaching job as yr not a native speaker... here only native speakers are consider as English teachers. meantime if you have a degree in English teaching there are chances of 5% cause to proceed with the immigration you should have a degree to get a working visa.